Posted by: Will | July 9, 2008

Review The Shoe!

So this is the first article of the soon-to-be new site, all about the follies of fitness. I am not treating this as an epic event because, well, there is nothing epic about the first of hopefully many thousands of articles. I just want to say hold your breath, plug your nose and lets dive in. And since we are diving in we might as well be in the deep end and talk about chicks, man. (that was from The Soup) Just kidding, but I am not far off. I want to review running/training shoes today.

I am a sucker for running shoe stores. I can’t help it! I am sure there is therapy to help me but much like the difference between a drunk and an alcoholic, as long as it brings me happiness I will keeping huffing new shoe smell and measure my feet on one of these things. But I will tell you, with my affliction also comes a level of knowledge that can only be acquired by bugging the shoe store staff at 8am every Saturday. They pretend to like me.

First, lets start with the ones I own. From the Nike Shox family, this one is the BRS 1000 and as far as running shoes go I rate this one equivalent to a dump in a jar. Just about everything Nike boasted about this shoe was false. It didn’t have the support around the arch what so ever, the tongue was designed for the iPod Nano mount so it never stayed in one place but slid to the left and to the right usually about the point I enter “the zone”. Let’s see..oh yeah! The name Shox really fell a few yards short because after about mile three, I felt like I had tied two text books to the bottom of my feet. Perhaps if Nike would stop making shoes that look like race cars they could design a shoe that doesn’t run like Roosevelt. Was that too soon?

Going to a polar opposite, La Sportiva makes a fine shoe for those of you like me that prefer to haul ass on a mountain trail rather than a paved sidewalk. It’s not everyday that I can go off-roading on “righty’ and “lefty” but on the occasional weekend I do, I rock these. Well, to be honest, I rocked these but I left one on the roof of my car one fateful day. When I found out what I did, I broke out into “Amazing Grace” and I wasn’t even embarrassed that I was at a crowded Starbucks. I still have the other one today.

So I guess you can tell that I really liked these shoes. I do. I guess it can be compared to wearing Humvees on your feet. The comfort level of this shoe is off the chart. I guess it is a good thing that your feet don’t go to sleep when they are comfortable or this review would be a little different. That was lame, I know. But seriously, this is one of the most versatile shoes on the market and it will perform no matter the climate, terrain or speed. It also breaths well making it far less stinky the next day.

The New Balance 992 is another great running shoe that is a not as flashy as others by today’s standard but what it lacks in show it makes up for in support. For the longest time I was under the impression that New Balance was generally for the wide footed and since my foot is the equivalent of an Angelina Joli (long,skinny and bony) I never really gave them a fair chance until last year. The shock absorption for long distant, flat paved roads is where this shoe really makes the grade. It’s not an “off the beaten path” shoe, however. If you find your self going down a steep graveled grade you might as well be on skis. No, this shoe is the perfect shoe for flat, hot, long paved roads and it will cushion every step as if you were running on a path paved with Beanie Babies. Hey, I have been on the 95 degree A1A road in Florida and for all I know, that road was paved with Beanie Babies.

Oh yeah, this shoes doesn’t do well with beach runs. The sand will seep in from everywhere if they get salt water on them, you have to hose them off before they dry. The last ones I had dried in some contorted shape making the next day’s run a little uncomfortable.

I might be a little bias when it comes to the company INOV-8 because, ahem, I will be advertising for them on my new site so, ahem, if you like them as much as I do, ahem, you may want to check them out, ahem ahem. Excuse me, I think there is something in my throat. Anywho, the shoe above in the Inov-8 Mudclaw and I just bought a pair last week. Amazing! Seriously, they are. I can’t believe that such a light weight shoe can be so tough. It is definitely not for paved surfaces so city running is definitely out, but if you are into trail and mountain running like I am, these are the bad boys you want on Righty and Lefty.

Everything about this shoe is designed for support and foot protection. The inter webbed exterior is linked to the lace system so the shoe is literally apart of your foot. The Gortex mesh allows water to wick away but at the same time allows the foot to breath. Yes, feet need to breath. And above all the sole will stick to any surface. No more will I have to scream in terror while I race/slide out of control from a 600 foot descending mountain road. Nope, I bet I could run upside down in these. That will be for another post.

So, these are four shoes for today’s review. I am by no means an expert when it comes to what makes a shoe the best running shoe in the world but I do know that blisters, soles that fall off and broken metatarsals from weak shanks are bad things. If you read this and found it somewhat entertaining, remember, you just were entertained by shoes. Wait until my sock review comes out!

Responses

  1. How could you not pull a shoe from the Bowerman series when talking about Nike Running??? C’mon! The man revolutionized running waffles/spikes…anything bearing his name has to be better than Nike’s attempts to have fashionably functional shoes. All women know that anything fashionable can’t be functional, and it’s probably uncomfortable!!!

  2. Yippee! Your first “real” review! Love it, seriously.

    But, uh–and this is very forward of me–can I offer some constructive criticism? That comes from LOVE and ADORATION of all that is Billy Webster, Macabre Genius?

  3. Please! I need constructive criticism. I’m serious.

  4. I should start wearing running shoes, all I have worn for the last 15 years are skate shoes.
    And my feet are constantly killing me.
    Would it be ok with you if I wore running shoes but never, you know, ran?

  5. Knock it out, man! I would rock the 992’s. Very retro.

  6. K…I’ll pop you an email. Look for something from “essaytch@live.com”. That’s me. 🙂

  7. Ohh- so people JOG on trails?! I find that weird.
    I love hiking, but sometimes I go- “maaaan, this flat spot is taking for-ever!” It never occured to me to just BOOK on those.
    But then, I’ve never really been a runner. Soccer taught me that endurance was key for short, stocky body types like mine, so I eat up asphalt and dirt at the “slow and steady” pace.

    Maybe you can tell me about the different kinds of shoes. Like the difference between Walkers and Runners.
    Maybe even what makes Skate Shoes different from other shoes.
    I was told it had extra padding around the ankles to protect that joint in pops, jumps and teh expected poor landings.

  8. I’m not too hip with the running shoes so this was actually very informative AND funny…i.e. I really think you should get that one lonely shoe bronzed and place it on the mantle..lol…an homage if you will 😉

    PS: when I was 10, these L.A. Gear “Lights” high-top runners came out with pink sparkly laces and I wanted them soooooo BAD…but of course my parents shopped at the cheap-o stores that knock-offs of everything (like before big-box Wal-Mart days), and found me a pair of crappy “girl’s runners” after rummaging around in a wire “shoe bin” for a while (yup, it was the kind of store where the shoe inventory was piled in bins…they also sold open-stock underwear which was in a different bin…but that’s another story about my undergarments that no one needs to hear 🙂 )

  9. I have a pair of Nike running shoes, but I don’t do a lot of actual running. I stick to the ellipitical at the gym. My constant falling and messing up of all my joints in my feet and legs makes running harder.
    Is there a better shoe that can minimize the stress on my feet? I have a bad right knee (Geez, I sound like I’m 50) so I have to wear a brace at the gym and if I don’t have the brace on quite right my right foot can start to get numb because I’m trying to avoid the stress on my knee.

  10. I would always stick to the moderately priced New Balance. they are designed, like the 992’s, to take the impact out of the heel strike on the ground.
    I completely understand the joint issues. One of the biggest injury causes are from people nursing a part of the body by compensating somewhere else. Thus causing the injury to occur somewhere else. Best rule of thumb is to get checked out by a Sports Therapist and she or he can recommend the best wraps and exercises for your knee.
    Also, the elliptical is the shit.

  11. I was THIS CLOSE to purchasing Nike Shocks last season… but only for the color (pink and orange… how tacky is that? Loved it). Due to the price and my student status, I went with something else (but still Nike). My uncle was a university track coach for decades and suggested the Asics Gel series with structured cushioning. I don’t remember my feet being especially stinky after wearing them. Come to think of it, my feet only smell after wearing my multi-colored cloth Steve Madden platform slip-ons.

  12. P.S. The elliptical is the best alternative for cardio if you have large breasts and PMS. Much less bouncing to inflict pain.

  13. I need to find a girl that can review the best sports bras. I wouldn’t even know where to start with that.

  14. I’ve been considering new running shoes for a while but am always overwhelmed in the stores, so many different types, the sales people can be really pushy and only suggest the most expensive, and I’m cheap…so I’ve been sticking with my crappy old ones that are more than broken in. But now I might just venture in and take a better look.

  15. I make it a rule never spend more than $60 on street running shoes because you really should replace them every 6-8 months. There isn’t much of a difference between 60 dollars and 120 dollars in a shoe. I don’t care who says it. They are obviously either sold or are selling. Buyer beware!

  16. I could review the sports bras for you. Heaven knows I spend enough time looking / shopping for them. Price does not matter as I will fork out whatever it takes to ensure comfort and stability and cut down on the gaping stares from slack-jawed drooling meatheads.

  17. I can’t believe you said the elliptical was “the shit”…I read “the elliptical is shit”…in which case I would’ve agreed with you.

    I get on the elliptical to play around if I’m bored in the gym. When I do this, I’m aware of the people in there actually trying to lose weight staring at me. I wanna turn around and say, “Trust me, I didn’t get like this working out on an elliptical!” But I’m not that big of a bitch. Actually I am, but if they wanna waste their time, who am I to stop them?

    When was the last time an elliptical made you puke??? I don’t think the bearings are rated for speeds necessary to induce vomiting during a workout.

  18. deejo: I don’t look for my workouts to induce vomiting. I use the elliptical because injuries keep me from being able to run on the treadmill. I find the elliptical an effective alternative. Plus, it shapes my ass nicely at the same time! 🙂

  19. http://4TCG.com

    all nike shoes from $69
    Nike Air Max 90,
    Nike Air Max 180
    Nike Air Max black/white
    http://4TCG.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

